RotaryPeaceChula

Rotary Peace Center at Chulalongkorn University, Bangkok, Thailand

The Last Day

Today was the last day of the academics of the fellowship.  I should have felt  happy about it, but on the contrary I felt sad and felt that I would miss the sessions and the class and the fellows.  I realized that in this 3 months I have formed a bond with this place and all those associated with it.  The Rotary Peace Center at Chulalongkorn University, Bangkok, has now become an unforgettable part of my life.

We are in the last week of the fellowship and almost done with the academics.  I took a moment today to recollect the memories from the day I landed in Vidyanivesh.   The first fellows with whom I interacted on the very first day were Carolina, Mavis, Ruchika and Etop.  Then came the introduction with the other fellows, both formal in the class and informal outside.  It was good to know every one as they all came from diverse backgrounds and cultures.

Each day thereafter was a learning experience for me.  The Rotary Peace Center’s comfortable environment and the dedication of the center’s staff made this learning experience very pleasant.  For me, some concepts of peace building and conflict resolution were very new.  The lesson plans, role plays, and group assignments in which I participated during the course were all very unique and also very new for me.  I could learn so many new things and imagined how I could apply all that to my profession as a police officer back home.  The field visits to Ubon Ratchathani and Nepal were unique experiences in themselves.  These study tours exposed us to the challenges that await us in the field after we resume our work.  All the lovely  functions and dinners with the Rotarians were also memorable experiences.  The overall stay on this lovely campus was also mesmerizing .

Apart from the academics, I enjoyed the lifestyle of Bangkok.  The warm hospitality of the Thai people and the delicious food was overwhelming.  I cannot forget the group outings and the evenings I spent out with the fellows.

The most important thing among all these happenings was that I made 16 great friends from around the globe.  I felt comfortable in interacting with each and every fellow and we remained as a group till today.  I am sure that this is not the last time we are seeing each other and I look forward to see each one of my new friends in Mumbai.

I thank Rotary International and The Rotary Foundation for giving me this opportunity to be here and a part of this amazing learning session.  I wish all my fellows and the staff of the Rotary Peace Center, all the best for their future ventures.

Sachin Rane, India
Rotary Peace Fellow
January 2013 Session

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 27, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , .
