RotaryPeaceChula

Rotary Peace Center at Chulalongkorn University, Bangkok, Thailand

I Dream’d in a Dream

I picked the date for my blog with purpose.  It might appear that I chose one of the last spots so I wouldn’t have to worry about it, so I could put it off, put it out of my mind.  That is not the case.  I selected one of the last spots because I knew I wanted to make my blog a recollection of my time spent at the Rotary Peace Center at Chulalongkorn University.

When I began reflecting, going through my notes, my journal entries, the concepts we learned, places we visited, and work we’ve done, there was one constant in all of it: Each experience was memorable because of the people I had them with.

It was then that I understood my blog would be an ode to my classmates.

I quickly realized words alone couldn’t express my thoughts.  So I took to my craft.  I made a film about them, for them.  It’s a film that is equally about me and for me.  And it’s a film about being a Rotary Peace Fellow for Rotary Peace Fellows.

In the documentary I recite a poem by Walt Whitman.  You’ll hear it in the film, but it’s meant to have its time in words, so you can read over them.  Hopefully, again, and again, and again.

I Dream’d in a Dream

I dream’d in a dream, I saw a city invincible to the attacks of the whole of the rest of the earth;
I dream’d that was the new City of Friends;
Nothing was greater there than the quality of robust love—it led the rest;
It was seen every hour in the actions of the men of that city,
And in all their looks and words.

Walt Whitman

Robert A. Emmons Jr., USA
Rotary Peace Fellow
June 2013 Session

4 comments on “I Dream’d in a Dream

  1. Mark
    August 26, 2013

    Brilliant. Uplifting. Thank you Bobby.

  2. sunita masani
    August 26, 2013

    Wonderful work Bobby .. loved the film and the blog!

  3. Sanem Özer
    August 28, 2013

    Dear Robert, we have attained a piece of you and you have a piece of us all. You have each and every qualification you have seen in us. We all have been inspired by each other, have not we? Thank you, your film means so much to me…

  4. Dina
    August 28, 2013

    Bobby, you are truly gifted – in so many ways. This was amazing. You stirred up a lot of emotions – feeling lucky I had the opportunity to meet all of you, even if it was brief, as well as sad that I cannot be there to hear all of your presentations, see you graduate, and wish you well. Keep in touch.

Leave a Reply

