RotaryPeaceChula

Rotary Peace Center at Chulalongkorn University, Bangkok, Thailand

Adriana, how are you?

Just one day before I left for three months, you walked on your own for the first time. I was so happy and my initial thought was “my baby will soon be able to also talk and start enjoying life to the fullest”.

After my flight to Bangkok, Thailand, and your flight to Toronto, Canada (with your mom), I was told that you suffered a severe seizure during the flight, and that it happened twice the following day. You were immediately sent to the hospital. The news shocked me. I felt pain in my chest, couldn’t sleep at night and my thoughts always turned to you during my classes and homework.

So here I am in Bangkok, working out potential ways to achieve sustainable development and peace between Serbs and Albanians in post-conflict Kosovo, while at the same time thinking consistently about you and your health, which has been deeply affecting me.

Moreover, I’m asking myself “How can I contribute to a more peaceful world when I don’t even have peace within myself?”

Ok, I get it. There are some stress relief techniques that I can use which will enable me to relax for a couple of minutes, but as soon as I’m done, you come back into my thoughts…  Ah Adriana, if you could be here for just a moment so I can forget everything around me, squeeze you in my arms and breathe in your precious, unique baby smell… If I could just see your smiling face again… Well, I guess a father does not fully appreciate all of the quality moments he spends with his baby, but I do definitely appreciate them now.

But hey, there is hope. The time passes very fast. There is only one more task to be finished before I will see you again and will try my very best to become an even better father who will appreciate every single second with you. Yes, it sounds easy, one more task, right?

I will try to explain this task to you.

There are good guys and bad guys in the world, ok? Let’s call them CONNECTORS and DIVIDERS. You and I will try to work with the Connectors as much as we can in the country you’re currently living in, and we will just ignore the dividers (I’m sure you’ll agree with me that it’s not worth spending our precious time with them).

Moreover, we will take a closer look at the so-called NO HARM APPROACH. We will try to cause the least damage possible while working to help people live peacefully together. We will do so in order to make sure that there will be a lot more babies like you in the future who will play with their peers without prejudice and without noticing any differences (because actually there are none).

Ah yes, we will also WALK a lot – we will walk with people who think they are different from other people in the area. And we will listen to them carefully. We will walk until we get tired and then we will rest together, share our food with them and just continue listening to them. In case we think we should continue walking, we will do so, but just remember we will never stop. We will walk until all of us realize that we are not different from each other and we deserve to give peace a chance so we can all live harmoniously together.

You’re asking “When will we start with this adventure?”  As soon as I pick you up again in my arms, and we meet our neighbours.

Adriana was born on 15.03.2016 in Horgen, Switzerland.

 

Denis Nushi – Switzerland

Rotary Peace Fellow – Class23

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 3, 2017 by and tagged , , , , , , .
